Home
dhammadana.org; direct link to the beginning of the text Help Accessibility Search Books Fonts Contact
You are here: home > samgha > vinaya > novices' discipline
Next page Bottom of page Previous page Home page of the heading

summary of the page

Information about novices:

Who are they? What is their duty? What is the origin of this status?

This chapter give all the procedure to become a novice.

the novices' discipline


group of young novices, standing with their bowls

Who is a novice?

Very often, in countries hosting the theravāda tradition, we see children taking the robe of a sāmaṇera (Pali word for "novice") while the sole aim of finding themselves amid a large number of friends, to lead an easier life (as certain monks, besides), or because their parents put them into a monastery to feed up a sentiment of pride within the family or hoping that it will bring them good luck.

Theoretically, a sāmaṇera is someone who wishes to take some distance from mundane existence, and owing to this fact, makes the choice to practise the dhamma in a way or the other, but in a deeper way than the one a lay life allows him to. Such a person is in search of a life environment enabling him to train, under auspicious conditions, into detachment, development of virtue, concentration, or more directly, wisdom.

To do so, monastic life, in the way Buddha did establish it, proves to be the most appropriate alternative. Boys who wish to experience this life style, but who still didn't reach the required age for integrating the saṃgha (at least 20 years old, from the moment of conception), or who do not want to compel themselves into following the many rules and procedures of the vinaya, can just content themselves into taking the precepts of a sāmaṇera.

Only a nun (bhikkhunī) is entitled to give novice precepts to a girl (sāmaṇerī). As the order of nuns have become extinct, sāmaṇerīs can ipso facto no more be. If nowadays a girl wishes to do the experience of monastic life, she can however take the 8 precepts of a nun (sīladhāra) and observe 8, 9 or 10 precepts, or even more. Some nuns go as far as observing the vinaya of bhikkhunīs (or partly), or some dhutaṇgas.

A novice is therefore a person training into renunciation, living along with the saṃgha, who, like monks, wears the reddish or ochre robe (according to the regions) and shaves off his head. However, the code of discipline that he is liable to observe is far less elaborated than the one observed by monks, as for most of it, it is confined within 10 precepts.

Remark: As only a sāmaṇera can integrate the saṃgha, anybody wishing to become a monk (bhikkhu) must necessarily and in a preliminary stage take the precepts of sāmaṇera.

The origin

At the time when Buddha and his teaching started to be known, many young monks sprang up within the community, and among them, some children. Owing to the young ages of the later, and consequently their incapacity to conveniently lead such a life, many problems took place. For this reason, did Buddha lay down a rule (the pācittiya 65) forbidding the monks to integrate a person ageing less than twenty years within the saṃgha. Later on, when Buddha paid a visit to his family, he took his son Rahūla in his community while asking from one of his disciples, Sāriputtarā, to proceed to the integration of the former. Sāriputtarā inquired from Buddha about how to proceed, given that the Awakened One did not authorise a monk to integrate a person having less than twenty years of age, as Rahūla was only seven years old at that time.

From that time onward, did Buddha accept, within the saṃgha, persons being less than twenty years old. They however enjoy a "more limited" status. Thus, a monk can give the 10 precepts of a sāmaṇera to someone who is less than twenty years old (and, a fortiori, more than twenty years old), but – did Buddha specify – who is at least fifteen years old. Then later on, some people complained to Buddha that their son, being younger than fifteen years old, although being mature enough for leading a monastic life, had not been accepted within his community. He then added a specification: a monk is allowed to give the precepts of a novice to a child being less than fifteen years old provided the later is able to frighten crows.

How to become a novice?

As easy as pie. The vinaya does explain the procedure in details, giving all the formulas that it is convenient to express in Pali language. To sum it up: the one who wishes to become novice does express the request for it to a monk, than he shaves himself off, he removes his lay clothes, he dresses in a monastic robe, he "takes refuge" and takes the 10 precepts from a monk. Here we get a new novice!

Once the future novice has asked from the monk the triple refuge and the 10 precepts, he starts to pay homage to the Buddha:

«namo tassa bhagavato arahato samā sambuddhassa    namo tassa bhagavato arahato samā sambuddhassa    namo tassa bhagavato arahato samā sambuddhassa.»

«Praise to the perfect being, liberated from all defilement, this omniscient Buddha    Praise to the perfect being, liberated from all defilement, this omniscient Buddha    Praise to the perfect being, liberated from all defilement, this omniscient Buddha.»

The triple refuge

Then, he takes refuge (that's a way to show his respect and his confidence towards the one who gave the teaching leading to the definitive liberation from all dissatisfaction, towards the teaching itself and the community of the ones who hand it down):

«buddhaṃ saranaṃ gacchāmi   dhammaṃ saranaṃ gacchāmi   sanghaṃ saranaṃ gacchāmi   dutiyampi buddhaṃ saranaṃ gacchāmi   dutiyampi dhammaṃ saranaṃ gacchāmi   dutiyampi sanghaṃ saranaṃ gacchāmi   tatiyampi buddhaṃ saranaṃ gacchāmi   tatiyampi dhammaṃ saranaṃ gacchāmi   tatiyampi sanghaṃ saranaṃ gacchāmi. »

« I take refuge into Buddha   I take refuge into dhamma (his teaching)   I take refuge into saṃgha (the community of the one handing down the teaching)   For the second time, I take refuge into Buddha   For the second time, I take refuge into dhamma   For the second time, I take refuge into saṃgha   For the third time, I take refuge into Buddha   For the third time, I take refuge into dhamma   For the third time, I take refuge into saṃgha. »

The monk concludes then:

« tisarana gamanam nitthitam. »

« The triple refuge is fulfilled. »

Hence, only the 10 precepts remain to be taken (see below).

Remark: The laity wishing to observe the 5 or 8 precepts also takes the triple refuge.

Which discipline are novices liable to observe?

Each sāmaṇera is liable to observe 10 precepts and 75 sekhiyas. If a sāmaṇera breaks one of the first five among the 10 precepts, he looses his status of sāmaṇera until he takes back these 10 precepts from a bhikkhu. If he breaks one of the last five among the 10 precepts, he is subject to a punishment.

To maintain the purity of the community of novices, in the same way as the monks do by listening to the presentation of the pātimokkha twice a month, monks give them back the 10 precepts during each full, new and half-moon (so nearly for times a month).

Apart from the precepts and points of training into a blameless conduct, each novice is naturally liable to obey to instructions and recommendations given by more ancient novices and monks (provided the said instructions and recommendations are not abusive). He must also make himself subject to the various duties laid down in the monastery where he does dwell, including all marks of respect and points of duties towards his preceptors and instructors (the way it is described in the vinaya).

The 75 sekhiyas

See the 75 sekhiyas

The ten precepts

The 10 precepts in Pali

1 — To abstain from killing living beings.

2 — To abstain from taking what is not given.

3 — To abstain from non-noble sexual practices (no sexual practice is considered to be noble).

4 — To abstain from telling what is untrue.

5 — To abstain from drinking liquors causing states of drunkenness.

6 — To abstain from eating after twelve noon.

7 — To abstain from watching dance performances, listening songs, listening someone/people playing music, dancing, playing music – if it directly connected with the activities of dhamma, chanting is tolerated.

8 — To abstain from adorning himself with flowers, smearing himself with perfumes, wearing ornaments, utilising ointments.

9 — Refraining from installation in places higher than noble beings (bhikkhu, bhikkhunī or sāmaṇera, older than oneself), or reserved for such beings.

10 — To abstain from accepting gold or money.

Creative Commons


Next page Top of page Previous page Home page of the heading Home Search Help

choice of style

Visit this Website according to the presentation you like...



To know more about these styles.

about this page

Origin: Wrote for the Website

Author: Monk Dhamma Sāmi

Date: 2003

Translator: Thierry Lambrou

Date of translation: 2003, November

Update: 2005, June the 18th

similar texts

Cliquez ici pour afficher normalement la page (avec mise en forme et graphisme). Si ça ne fonctionne pas, vérifiez que votre navigateur accepte JavaScript et supporte les CSS. Nous vous recommandons un navigateur respectant les standards, tel que : Google Chrome, Firefox, Safari…

Vous êtes ici : accueil > sangha > vinaya > discipline des novices
résumé de la page

Informations à propos des novices :

Qui sont-ils ? À quoi sont-ils tenus ? Quelle est l’origine de ce statut ?

Un chapitre donne toute la procédure pour devenir novice.

La discipline des novices

groupe de tout jeunes novices, debout et portant leurs bols

Qu’est-ce qu’un novice ?

Bien souvent, dans les pays du theravāda, nous voyons des enfants prendre la robe de sāmaṇera (terme pali pour « novice ») dans le seul but de se retrouver avec nombre de copains, de mener une existence plus facile (comme certains moines, d’ailleurs), ou parce que leurs parents les mettent au monastère pour la fierté de la famille ou espérant que cela leur portera bonheur.

Théoriquement, un sāmaṇera est une personne qui souhaite prendre du recul par rapport à la vie mondaine, et de ce fait, fait le choix de pratiquer le dhamma d’une manière ou d’une autre, mais de manière plus approfondie que ne le permet la vie laïque. Une telle personne recherche un cadre de vie permettant de s’entraîner dans de bonnes conditions au détachement, au développement de la vertu, de la concentration, ou plus directement, de la sagesse.

Pour se faire, l’existence monacale telle que Bouddha l’a établie s’avère en être la réponse la plus adaptée. Les garçons qui veulent faire l’expérience de ce mode de vie, mais qui n’ont pas encore l’âge pour être intégrés dans le saṃgha (au minimum 20 ans, depuis la conception), ou qui ne veulent pas s’astreindre aux nombreuses règles et procédures du vinaya, peuvent se contenter de prendre les préceptes de sāmaṇera.

Seule, une moniale (bhikkhunī) est en mesure de donner les préceptes de novice à une fille (sāmaṇerī). Comme les moniales ont disparu, les sāmaṇerī ne peuvent ipso facto plus être. Si une fille souhaite faire l’expérience de la vie monacale, elle peut toutefois prendre les 8 préceptes de nonne (sīladhāra) et observer 8, 9 ou 10 préceptes, et même plus. Certaines nonnes vont jusqu’à observer le vinaya des bhikkhunī (ou en partie), ou des dhutaṅga.

Un novice est donc une personne s’entraînant au renoncement, vivant avec le saṃgha, qui, à l’instar des moines, porte la robe rougeâtre ou ocre (selon les régions) et se rase le crâne. Cependant, la discipline à laquelle il est tenu est nettement plus basique que celle des moines, puisque pour l’essentiel, elle se limite aux 10 préceptes.

Remarque : comme seul un sāmaṇera peut intégrer le saṃgha, toute personne souhaitant devenir moine (bhikkhu) doit nécessairement prendre les préceptes de sāmaṇera préalablement.

L’origine

À l’époque où Bouddha et son enseignement commençaient à être connus, beaucoup de nouveaux moines firent leur apparition au sein de la communauté, et parmi eux, des enfants. Du fait du jeune âge de ces derniers, et par conséquent de leur incapacité à mener convenablement une telle existence, de nombreux problèmes survinrent. Pour cette raison, Bouddha établit une règle (le pācittiya 65) interdisant les moines d’intégrer une personne âgée de moins de vingt ans au sein du saṃgha. Plus tard, lorsque Bouddha rendit visite à sa famille, il prit son fils Rahūla dans sa communauté en demandant à l’un de ses principaux disciples, Sāriputtarā, d’effectuer son intégration. Sāriputtarā demanda alors à Bouddha comment procéder, étant donné qu’il n’autorisait pas un moine à intégrer une personne âgée de moins de vingt ans, et que Rahūla n’est encore qu’un enfant de sept ans.

C’est depuis cet instant que Bouddha accepta les personnes de moins de vingt ans auprès du saṃgha, avec néanmoins un statut « plus limité ». Ainsi, un moine peut donner les 10 préceptes de sāmaṇera à une personne âgée de moins de vingt ans (et, a fortiori, de plus de vingt ans), mais – a précisé Bouddha – d’au moins quinze ans. Par la suite, des gens se sont plaints auprès de Bouddha que leurs fils de moins de quinze ans, bien que tout à fait mûrs pour la vie monacale, ne soient pas acceptés auprès de sa communauté. Il a alors ajouté une précision : un moine est autorisé à donner les préceptes de novice à un enfant de moins de quinze ans qui a la capacité d’effrayer des corbeaux.

Comment devient-on novice ?

Rien n’est plus simple. Le vinaya explique la procédure en détail, donnant toutes les formules en pali qu’il convient d’énoncer. Pour résumer : celui qui souhaite être novice en formule la demande auprès d’un moine, ensuite il se rase, il quitte ses vêtements laïcs, il met sa robe monastique, il « prend refuge » et prend les 10 préceptes auprès du moine. Voilà un nouveau novice !

Une fois que le futur novice a demandé au moine le triple refuge et les 10 préceptes, il commence par rendre hommage à Bouddha :

« namo tassa bhagavato arahato samā sambuddhassa namo tassa bhagavato arahato samā sambuddhassa namo tassa bhagavato arahato samā sambuddhassa. »

« Vénérons l’être parfait, libéré de toutes impuretés, ce Bouddha omniscient Vénérons l’être parfait, libéré de toutes impuretés, ce Bouddha omniscient Vénérons l’être parfait, libéré de toutes impuretés, ce Bouddha omniscient. »

Le triple refuge

Ensuite, il prend refuge (c’est une manière de marquer son respect et sa confiance envers celui qui a délivré l’enseignement qui mène à la libération définitive de toute insatisfaction, envers l’enseignement lui-même et la communauté de ceux qui le véhiculent) :

« buddhaṃ saranaṃ gacchāmi dhammaṃ saranaṃ gacchāmi sanghaṃ saranaṃ gacchāmi dutiyampi buddhaṃ saranaṃ gacchāmi dutiyampi dhammaṃ saranaṃ gacchāmi dutiyampi sanghaṃ saranaṃ gacchāmi tatiyampi buddhaṃ saranaṃ gacchāmi tatiyampi dhammaṃ saranaṃ gacchāmi tatiyampi sanghaṃ saranaṃ gacchāmi. »

« Je prends refuge envers Bouddha Je prends refuge dans le dhamma (son enseignement) Je prends refuge auprès du saṃgha (la communauté de ceux qui le véhiculent) Pour la deuxième fois, je prends refuge envers Bouddha Pour la deuxième fois, je prends refuge dans le dhamma Pour la deuxième fois, je prends refuge auprès du saṃgha Pour la troisième fois, je prends refuge envers Bouddha Pour la troisième fois, je prends refuge dans le dhamma Pour la troisième fois, je prends refuge auprès du saṃgha. »

Le moine conclut alors :

« tisarana gamanam nitthitam. »

« Le triple refuge est accompli. »

Il ne reste plus qu’à prendre les 10 préceptes (voir plus bas).

Remarque : les laïcs qui souhaitent observer les 5 ou les 8 préceptes prennent également le triple refuge.

À quelle discipline sont tenus les novices ?

Chaque sāmaṇera est tenu aux 10 préceptes et aux 75 sekhiya. Si un sāmaṇera brise l’un des cinq premiers des 10 préceptes, il perd son statut de sāmaṇera jusqu’à ce qu’il reprenne ces 10 préceptes auprès d’un bhikkhu. S’il brise l’un des cinq derniers des 10 préceptes, il est soumis à une punition.

Pour entretenir la pureté de la communauté des novices, tout comme les moines qui écoutent la présentation du pātimokkha deux fois par mois, les moines leur redonnent les 10 préceptes à chaque jour de pleine, nouvelle et demi-lune (soit près de quatre fois par mois).

En dehors des préceptes et des points d’entraînement à la une conduite irréprochable, chaque novice est naturellement tenu d’obéir aux instructions et recommandations des novices anciens et des moines (dans la mesure où il n’y a pas d’abus). Il doit aussi se soumettre aux diverses tâches établies dans le monastère où il réside, ainsi qu’à toutes les marques de respect et devoirs envers ses précepteurs et instructeurs (tel que cela est décrit dans le vinaya).

Les 75 sekhiya

Voir : Les 75 sekhiya

Les dix préceptes

  1. s’abstenir de tuer
  2. s’abstenir de prendre ce qui n’a pas été donné
  3. s’abstenir de pratique sexuelle non noble (aucune pratique sexuelle n’est considérée comme noble)
  4. s’abstenir de dire ce qui n’est pas vrai
  5. s’abstenir de boire des boissons alcoolisées et de tous intoxicants
  6. s’abstenir de manger après midi(125)
  7. s’abstenir de regarder danser, d’écouter chanter, d’écouter jouer de la musique, de danser, de chanter, de jouer de la musique — s’il est directement lié aux activités du dhamma, le chant est toléré
  8. s’abstenir de se parer de fleurs, de s’enduire de parfum, de se parer d’ornements, de l’utilisation d’onguents
  9. s’abstenir d’installation à des places plus hautes que des êtres nobles (bhikkhu, bhikkhunī ou sāmaṇera plus ancien que soi), ou réservées à de tels êtres
  10. s’abstenir d’accepter de l’or ou de l’argent(47)
infos sur cette page

Origine : Rédigé pour le site

Auteur : Moine Dhamma Sāmi

Date : 2003

Mise à jour : 18 juin 2005